No idea if it’s tears, sweat or rain running down my face.

My shoes are still drying out. I’m still drying out and it’s not even alcohol related.

It was only a 12 miler. It was supposed to be warmer. I like the rain. It keeps me cool. Stops my face from beaming like a search beacon. No hat or gloves today, sooooooo wrong choice.

At less than half a mile in a car went passed and soaked me. Thanks. At that point I wasn’t too bothered. A few miles in however as i squelched through the miles…

Really quickly, at about the point where I usually start to warm up the opposite seemed to happen. My hands were frozen and not getting any warmer. It’s at times like these that I wish people could see me (whispers…’I don’t really mean that). I think people think I just skip about with lots of energy loving every mile.

I was so happy to make it home but then it took probably the same length of time as the run to get in the door as my hands were so cold I could barely turn the key!

 

 

About klayire

In 2012 I completed my first ever marathon and raised £1843.96 for Alzheimer Scotland (Action on Dementia). Unfortunately I gained an injury. Initially thought to be IT Band I carried on running only to develop further injuries. By the time I crawled through the door of a private physio I had squint and twisted hips (this surely halves my marathon time as I clearly did double the distance with my snake hips!) , achilles tendonitis and shin splints. I was told there would be NO running for at least 5 months. The good news...back to running after 4 months; the not so good news...as I'm straightened out further issues are appearing. But with the promise of being fixable I'm determined to get back to full fitness and run an ultramarathon. Yes Mr Physio, "with that knee!" I did however promise not to do this next week but have this as a future goal as he realised that..."you mean it don't you!" May 2011 Position: 5065. Time: Full marathon: 4 hours 15 mins 07 secs; 10k: 54 mins 06 secs; Half marathon: 1 hour 54 mins 44 secs; 30k – 2 hours 45 mins 30 secs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment