Starting at the beginning….again!

Six weeks on after the marathon, no runs, no blogs. Gutted at having to stop running and lose the fitness levels I’d worked so hard to achieve it seems unfair that only six weeks ago I could run 26.2 miles yet my first few wobbles outside have been excrutiatingly slow and difficult piddly three milers.

Instantly on finishing the marathon it was obvious the injury wouldn’t disappear after a few ibuprofen,  RICE (rest, ice, compression, elevation), or a sports massage. Although it was worth a try. Heading to the physio was the only other option so that the problem could be fixed and hopefully be prevented from occurring again. Unfortunately for the time being, visions of faster marathon finishing times and even venturing into the world of ultramarathons, would have to be postponed. The reason – the dreaded IT Band (Illiotibial Band).

Turns out after all that training that my left leg just isn’t as strong as the right leg. So much so that the physio pointed out that there was muscle definition on the right and diddly squat on the left. To the point where it could be seen by just looking! The good news – it can be fixed!!! Yee ha! The bad news…no running for six weeks (and this was already two weeks after the marathon).

About klayire

In 2012 I completed my first ever marathon and raised £1843.96 for Alzheimer Scotland (Action on Dementia). Unfortunately I gained an injury. Initially thought to be IT Band I carried on running only to develop further injuries. By the time I crawled through the door of a private physio I had squint and twisted hips (this surely halves my marathon time as I clearly did double the distance with my snake hips!) , achilles tendonitis and shin splints. I was told there would be NO running for at least 5 months. The good news...back to running after 4 months; the not so good news...as I'm straightened out further issues are appearing. But with the promise of being fixable I'm determined to get back to full fitness and run an ultramarathon. Yes Mr Physio, "with that knee!" I did however promise not to do this next week but have this as a future goal as he realised that..."you mean it don't you!" May 2011 Position: 5065. Time: Full marathon: 4 hours 15 mins 07 secs; 10k: 54 mins 06 secs; Half marathon: 1 hour 54 mins 44 secs; 30k – 2 hours 45 mins 30 secs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment